Thomas Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership – Pittsburg, PA 2022

Share This Post

Seventeen aspiring community college presidents attended the Thomas Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in October 2022.  Hosted by the Community College of Allegheny County, the 2022 Lakin Institute provided the opportunity for potential community college presidents to analyze their abilities, reflect on their interests, refine their skills, and engage in leadership discussions with a complement of community college leaders, who serve as faculty, from across the United States.  Throughout the Institute’s intensive six-day experience, the faculty leverage their community college leadership expertise and field-based practical skills to address topics such as, The Role of a Community College President; Preparing for the Presidency; Leading While Black in a New Era; Student Success and Completion; Crisis Management; Planning and Leading Strategic Initiatives; Budgeting; Generational Effect on the College Presidency; Working collaboratively with Faculty and Bargaining Units; and Governance. 

According to Dr. Kimberly Beatty, Immediate Past Convener for the President’s Round Table (PRT) and Chancellor of Metropolitan Community College, “The Thomas Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership provides a uniquely personal and professional development experience for proven Fellows who demonstrate the potential for a community college chief executive officer position.  Each Fellow participates in a weeklong intensive program of study with strong leadership and mentoring components.  Participants are expected to immediately apply knowledge, principles, and new skills acquired or enhanced through the Institute”. 

They congratulated and recognized the Fellows for their willingness to continue the journey in leadership and expand their competencies to positively impact students and our communities.  

The leadership competencies for Community College Leaders from the American Association of Community Colleges assisted with framing the program curriculum for the Institute.  “This year’s Lakin Institute was a tremendous success, replete with excellent learning opportunities.  The sessions presented enlightened and motivated Fellows to consider varying aspects of leadership.  As a past participant of the Institute, I remain in contact with many members from the cohort and faculty presenters.  We may reconnect through email, a brief call, or during a conference experience.  Throughout this leadership journey, I continue to absorb and learn from others”, stated Dean of the Thomas Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership and President of Kalamazoo Valley Community College, Dr. L. Marshall Washington.

The Lakin 2022 cohort would like to express a multitude of appreciation to all 2022 Lakin faculty for the gift of their time, talents, and experiences during the Lakin Institute.  

The 2022 Lakin Institute Faculty

Dr. Kimberly Beatty,  Metropolitan Community College

Dr. Quintin Bullock,  Community College of Allegheny County

Dr. Merrill Irving,  MBK Solutions LLC

Dr. Andrew Jones,  Retired

Dr. Charlene Newkirk,  Community College of Allegheny County

Dr. Tammy Robinson,  Mesa Community College

Dr. Joe Seabrooks, Cedar Valley College

Dr. Alicia Harvey-Smith, Pittsburgh Technical College

Dr. Walt Tobin, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College

Dr. Evon Walters, Community College of Allegheny County

Dr. L. Marshall Washington, Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Dr. Daria Willis, Howard Community College

Mr. David Raney, Nuventive  

Mr. Paul Doeg, RH Perry 

Ms. Trimeka Benjamin, Swim Digital Group


Finally, we applaud Dr. Washington, Dr. Beatty, and the Presidents’ Round Table of African-American CEOs for increasing the pipeline of qualified and prepared African American presidents through the Thomas L. Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership.  We also want to extend our gratitude to the other presidents who were present in Pittsburgh: Dr. Sean Madison, Tarrant County Community College – Trinity River Campus and Dr. Irvin Clark, Southern Crescent Technical College.

The 2019 Lakin Institute Fellows

Dr. Carol Ash, Central New Mexico Community College

Mr. Abdimalik Buul, California Community College

Dr. Nikki Ceaser-Small, Dallas College – Cedar Valley 

Dr.  Angela Davis, Durham Technical Community College

Dr. Tangila Dove, Northeast Lakeview College/Alamo College

Dr. Tiffany Evans, Community College of Allegheny County

Dr. Stephen Fomeche, Rio Salado College

Dr. Rolanda Horn, Alabama State University

Dr. Edwin Imasuen, Halifax Community College

Dr. Jonathan Locust, Jr., Winona State University

Dr. Pamela Luckett, Dallas College  

Dr. John Nehemiah Harper, South Central College

Dr. LaTonya Nixon, Beauford County Community College

Dr. John Parker, San Diego City College

Dr. Stephanie Scroggins, Tarrant County College

Ms. Juel L. Smith, Community College of Allegheny County

Dr. Vladimir St Surin, Community College of Allegheny County


Save the Date:

2023 Thomas Lakin Institute for Mentored Leadership

October  14- 20, 2023

Kansas City, Missouri


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

More To Explore

Lakin Institute 2024 Application

Download the application for the 2024 Lakin Institute by clicking here or saving the thumbnails below. Thank you for your interest!